Community runs for education

Photo by Joshua Wagner

Intramurals 5k run raises awareness for ‘No Excuses’

By Vanessa Garcia

Photo by Joshua Wagner

Students and employees of Amarillo College as well as members of the community participated in the No Excuses 5K Run/Walk Oct. 22. The number of participants was 166, an increase from last year.

“A good amount of students showed up,” said Trena Rider, intramural specialist. “Each different group that was invited was presented well. I think it was fantastic.”

Rider said the 5K Run/Walk benefits the No Excuses initiative by sending a portion of the proceeds from the event to San Jacinto Elementary School. Some of the money also will go to the No Excuses March Madness event in the spring. Rider said they were able to write a $500 check last year for San Jacinto Elementary School.

Eric Ross and Marsha Fair­child won $500 scholarships, and Christopher Quintana won a $250 bookstore scholarship.

Canyon Coach Wes Kirton placed first overall. Kirton didn’t compete in AC’s 5K Run/Walk last year because of heart problems. Beginning last January, he trained over the next 10 months, and it led him to AC’s 5K Run/Walk.

Kirton said he gained confidence from the race and that he enjoyed the event.

The second place winner was Luis Perez, a wrestler who runs to stay in shape.

“I love that feeling of exhaustion,” Perez said.

Third place winner Eric Ross, a biotechnology major, said, “I learned I need more training.”

Ross said he has a passion for getting the community healthy and involved. The race was a good way to promote health, he said.

Tory Dees, a teacher at Hamlet Elementary School, said she participated because the 5K Run/Walk was for a good cause. She competed with her father. This was the first year they competed in AC’s event, but they have competed in others.

Top male and female winner for ages between 10 and 14 were Dawson Schmidt and Rylee Simmer. Top male and female winners for ages 20-29 were Luis Perez and Ashlee Jefferies. Top male and female for ages 40-49 were Rob Noland and Mary Fahey. Male winner for age 60 and up was Gean Deval. Top male and female employee runners were Eric Novak and Rachel Reneau.


Published: Wednesday, November 03, 2011

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.