Wall of Fame adds four

Image by Alex Perez


By Austin Mcwhorter

Amarillo College’s mass communication program added four inductees to its Wall of Fame on Sept. 23.

The honorees include three former students, Jason Boyett, Walt Howard and Brad Loper, and the late Nancy Crowley, a former AC instructor.

Image by Alex Perez

The Wall of Fame was established more than 20 years ago, with only five honorees inducted over several years.

“Two years ago in mass communication faculty meetings, the idea came up to induct new people to the wall,” said Mike Haynes, a student media adviser. “We discussed different people to induct and voted four of them in.”

Haynes said the ceremony was postponed until renovations on Parcells Hall were complete and the mass communications program was settled into its new facilities.

Previous inductees to the Wall of Fame are Beth Duke, Kari Fluegel, Ben Sargent, Mike Stravato and Thomas Thompson.

The Wall of Fame can be seen in room 214 of Parcells Hall on the Washington Street Campus. It includes pictures and plaques with biographies of all the honorees.

“In the future, we plan to have one new inductee a year, hopefully alternating broadcast and print journalists,” Haynes said.

The Wall of Fame induction was combined with an open house for the new Parcells facilities.


Originally published: Thursday, October 06, 2011

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.